Corporate Renewable Energy Procurement Strategies: Pros, Cons, and Keys to Success

Major corporations and retailers are increasingly interested in procuring renewable power as a reliable and resilient hedge against rising electricity rates and as an important part of their sustainability and stakeholder strategies. This is a very significant emerging business opportunity for the sector; however, as the options available to purchasers and the regulatory playing field continues to evolve, companies need to be well informed in order to make the most knowledgeable decisions when procuring renewable power. Renewable energy procurement requires a sophisticated understanding of both the integration of renewable power into a company’s operations and the applicable state regulatory requirements. Additionally, understanding market dynamics and innovations as well as the different procurement options will allow companies to better navigate potential deals. Common procurement options include bulk power procurements with renewable energy certificates and power purchase agreements for purchasing off-site renewable energy or for on-site development projects. This webinar will examine several of the various deal structures, the effect of policy and market dynamics on procurement, and a handful of case studies detailing the complexity of procuring and producing renewable power.

ACORE is also forming a Corporate Procurement Working Group with the purpose of helping manage rising energy costs and achieving sustainability goals through increased use of renewable energy. As many leading corporations are discovering, procuring renewable energy can help reduce energy risks, lower bills, and help achieve sustainability targets important to customers, stakeholders, and the communities in which businesses operate.

Q & A Submission:
Q & A both on the teleconference and live at the host firm sites, will follow the speakers’ presentations. Please email questions to

Call Times:
12:00 pm – 1:30 pm Eastern
11:00 am – 12:30 pm Central
10:00 am – 11:30 am Mountain
9:00 am – 10:30 am Pacific
8:00 am – 9:30 am Alaskan

Teleconference Chairs:
Sarah A.W. Fitts, Debevoise & Plimpton LLP
Roger D. Stark, Stark Energy Consulting LLC
Gene Gurevich, Securing America’s Future Energy
Matthew J. Frank, Murphy Desmond S.C.
Grant Rauscher, Debevoise & Plimpton LLP

Todd Foley, Senior Vice President, Strategy, Policy & Government Relations, Chief Strategy Officer, ACORE

Dan Lieberman, Senior Marketing Manager, Product Development, SunEdison
John Powers, Vice President of Business Development, Renewable Choice Energy
Ellen Gilman, Senior Director of Business Development, Apex Clean Energy, Inc.